Cafe Centraal
So after hearing lots of good remarks, I finally made it over to Cafe Centraal. Its been open for like a month now and just a few blocks from my house in the BayView neighborhood of Milwaukee, so kinda ridiculous i hadn't made it there earlier. However, I am kinda wishing I never went.
My friend (and usual dining/cocktail partner) Ian and I went last night. Had perhaps the worst waitress we've ever had together. Ive had a few worse over the years, but yeah, this was ridiculous service. We sat there for a half hour with empty glasses wondering when our waitress (or any other staff member) would come follow up with us. We were too lazy to get up and seek out someone, but we kept trying to make eye contact with staff members. Totally tempted to do our first ditch and dine. But we couldn't really do that. Finnaaaallllly our waitress came. She was such an idiot. Whatever, we paid and left.
Then early this morning I wake up in pain. Yes, horrible stomach cramping. Reminded me of the last time I felt that sensation. (that time was in March from crab cakes at Hi Hat and I wound up in the emergency room, so dehydrated that my heart rate was twice that of a normal rate) "Damn," I thought, "must be the calamari." So I text Ian to see how his tummy is. fine. til an hour later. now hes quite nauseous. and we are both home from work. awesome. I'm at least being productive and following up with some of my clients with some emails and phone calls. just sold an ad, so that's cool.
Moral of the story, no longer eat seafood here in the Midwest. Damn.
Also, I'm bummed that Cafe Centraal was such a negative experience. I was really excited about that place opening up in my 'hood.
My frien
Then early
Moral
Also,

