Tuesday, March 28, 2006

agony

My weekend was like no other weekend I have ever experienced and I hope to never experience again.

Friday night I went to some coworkers' art show, then met up to celebrate Laura's birthday, then went with another friend to another bar to meet up with another friend.

Sounds like a good time, and indeed it was, until I blacked out. I'm certain someone drugged my drink. I remember leaving the bar with my friend Sarah, but thats my last memory. I don't remember the ride home or being home. I have one faint memory of laying on my floor but not being able to get up. I don't know where in my apartment I was, but I do know that I was on the floor.

I woke up a little after 11:00 on Saturday and felt the remnants of vomit in my nose and throat. I hadn't thrown up since I was 16 and had food poisoning. Before that I was 4 with the flu. I don't throw up. I look at my phone and realize I'm supposed to be at work and my car is in Riverwest. I call Jayme and she comes and picks me up to take me to my car. I stumble out of my house toward her car, drop my gum and make repeated attempts to pick it up. I am wearing half of yesterday's outfit, which I slept in. I changed my underwear and pants. Jayme realizes that I really can't drive to work. So she drives me there. I am so messed up. And an hour late.

April put a bunch of blush, dark lipstick and bronzer on me to distract from my bright red eyes. I work with clients and sell a about $300, but I can't make it. I don't know whats going on. I'm trying so hard but I just can't. I start crying at a few points and dissappear so that I appear somewhat professional.

April offers to take me home when she gets off, which is 4 hours before I get off. So i work 3 hours, fill out paperwork to take vacation the rest of the day, and decide to sleep in April's car until she's off.

Felicia, my manager who has become one of my best friends over the years, walks me out to April's car. I am crying and shaking as we walk through the store. She ends up driving me to McDonalds in April's car. I slowly force the food down over the next hour and a half. Then April is done and takes me home. I find vomit in the corner of a room. I feel like I'm an animal, having vomitted in the corner. I find more in my sink. I clean it up, still nausios.

I lay on my futon and fade in and out of sleep as I watch TV for 3 hours. Then I take a bath. My head hurts more than it has ever hurt before. I get out of the tub scared that I might pass out and drown. I make a pizza, but the smell gets to me and I go back to the bathroom and take a nap on the bathroom floor.

When my friends call me, I can hardly talk because I get too nauseous. I just want the day to be over. I fall asleep for good a little after midnight, still extremely messed up and nauseous.

Sunday morning I call a cab to drive me to my car and I head off to work, hungry and dehydrated. But I make it to work and am feeling much better.

Now its Tuesday and I am still a bit freaked out by all of this, but glad that I am okay. And glad that Sarah got me home and nothing bad happened to me. I called her Saturday and she felt really bad, she had no idea I was that bad. And I know she didn't know because she would not have left me alone. But yeah, moral of the story, watch your drinks.

2 Comments:

Blogger Timmothy said...

holy fuck

2:17 PM  
Blogger j said...

im reading this again almost a year later. and i think about how grateful i was that nothing bad happened-- no idea that something 'bad' would happen less than three months later. again, watch your drinks.

8:37 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home